New Alice Cooper September Release

Gene Avatar

Alice Cooper's Poison single coverAlice Cooper (“Poison,” “Clones (We’re All),” & “He’s Back [The Man Behind the Mask]”) is releasing a new album: “Welcome 2 My Nightmare” (not to be confused with “Welcome TO My Nightmare,” released in 1975).

Look for the new collection of tunes online & in your favorite music shop September 13th of this year.

Universal Music Enterprises is distributing the new tracks, which were produced by Bob Ezrin.

Ezrin produced the original multi-platinum “WTMN” LP in 1975.

According to the press release, the album picks up right where the Cooper & Ezrin left off, with Alice “trapped in his own warped mind.”

There’s an array of collaborators on the new album, including original Alice Cooper members Denis Dunaway, Michael Bruce & Neal Smith reunited on 3 tracks; global pop superstar Ke$ha, who affectionately calls Alice “dad”; & legendary Alice & Lou Reed guitarist Steve Hunter, who is part of Alice’s current touring band & featured prominently on the first “Nightmare” album.

Musically, the album ranges far and wide, from trashing disco to garage punk, pop balladry to a rocking number, very much in the spirit of the Rolling Stones (“Start Me Up,” “Harlem Shuffle,” “Mixed Emotions”).

Then there’s the ballad “Something To Remember Me By,” described by Alice as “the prettiest song we have ever released.”

“This is Alice’s nightmare 35 years later,” explains Alice, “Bob and I created this character and we know how to write for him.

I play the part but we’re not writing for me, we’re writing for Alice.

We kept the first ‘Nightmare’ album very personal to us, on this one we found more humor & we were more open.

This was our world & we want to present it to the fans.

The original album was my 1st solo album after all those huge hit records with the original band & now that nightmare is exposed, this one can be a little bit more open.

The music crosses all sorts of boundaries; we went where the lyrics took us.”

Glimpses of themes from the original album are intertwined throughout, each track representing a different aspect of Alice’s nightmare.

Here’s the track list:

1. I Am Made Of You
2. Caffeine
3. The Nightmare Returns
4. A Runaway Train
5. Last Man On Earth
6. The Congregation
7. I’ll Bite Your Face Off
8. Disco Bloodbath Boogie Fever
9. Ghouls Gone Wild
10. Something To Remember Me By
11. When Hell Comes Home
12. What Baby Wants
13. I Gotta Get Outta Here
14. The Underture

Alice gave fans an up close & highly personal experience in June with a surprise performance at London’s 100 Club, when actor Johnny Depp (“21 Jump Street,” “A Nightmare on Elm Street,” “Platoon”) joined the band on guitar.

Alice showcased the band that had blown away the Download Festival crowd the previous weekend.

This year, the original Alice Cooper group was inducted into the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame, & Alice was honored with both the Kerrang! Icon Award in the U.K. & the Revolver Golden God Award in the U.S.

Tagged in :

Gene Avatar

Leave a Reply

More Articles & Posts